Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Saturday, August 11, 2012

Crow's Landing by Brad Smith

Crow's Landing 
by Brad Smith
Scribner (Simon and Schuster)
ISBN: 978-1-4516-7854-3
Release Day: August 7, 2012
Buy from Indigo

Description: For Virgil Cain, a day of fishing on the Hudson River yields more than he bargained for when, while pulling up anchor, he hooks onto a mysterious steel cylinder. As word of Virgil’s strange catch spreads around the local marina, it draws the attention of a crooked city cop, who seizes both the cylinder and Virgil’s boat. Soon, an old drug deal gone sour floats to the surface, and to get to the bottom of it—and to get his boat back—Virgil teams up with a captivating single mom, Dusty, who knows far too much about the cylinder and the pure cocaine it contains. When her past comes calling, the landscape is cluttered with the dealer who claims ownership of the cylinder, his murderous sidekick, and a wild card in the form of a crazy Russian cowboy. Virgil and Dusty find themselves trapped square in the middle of it all. And looking for a way out

The Good Stuff
  • Beginning sucks you in (and with a minor dry spot in the middle) keeps you totally engrossed and not wanting to put down
  • Lots of twists and turns and edge of your seat moments
  • I love Virgil Cain he is such a fascinating character, I love getting to  know him bit by bit through Smith's stories
  • Unique, yet realistic, secondary characters -- all quirky and colourful
  • Author is Canadian and mentions some Canadian settings (not to mention a fabulous storyteller)
  • Great story for the beach or cottage
  • Plenty of trademark Smith wit -- the man makes me laugh out loud with some of his dialogue
  • Really enjoyed Dusty as a character, she was kick ass, funny and just really likeable and real
The Not So Good Stuff
  • Drags a wee bit in the middle
  • Its kinda silly, but the cover again doesn't really match the story - I felt the same with Red Means Run -- but I'm a cover slut so please ignore this since its only an ARC copy -- just saw the cover for the final book and its much better! (Cover pictured above is the ARC one)
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Nobody had a ready opinion as to what exactly the thing was, except for Mudcat, who was an expert on nearly everything, although his expertise was somewhat tempered by  the fact that he was basically an imbecile."

"I'd have an easier time doing that if it was true," Virgil said. "I never threatened Brownie. I did threaten Mudcat here. I told him I was going to kick the shit out of him if he didn't stop lying. Apparently he didn't listen to me because here he is lying again. And this time he's lying to the cops. Hey-- why don't you guys kick the shit out of him."

"Virgil started to tell him the hay mow story but he stopped. Kids get lied to enough in this world."

Who Should/Shouldn't Read
  • Fans of Elmor Leonard and Dennis Lehane - this one is for you (Also read Red Means Run)
  • If you enjoyed Red Means Run -- you will also love getting to know Virgil a little more
  • Just looking for a good mystery/suspense, this will definitely be your cup of tea
4.25 Dewey's

I received this from Simon and Schuster in exchange for an honest review

No comments:

Post a Comment