Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I've Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

I've Got Your Number
by Sophie Kinsella
Random House
ISBN: 978-0-385-34206-3
Buy From Indigo
Release Date: February 14, 2012

Description: I've lost it. The only thing in the world I wasn't supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It's been in Magnus's family for three generations. And now, the very same day his parents are coming, I've lost it. The very same day. Do not hyperventilate Poppy. Stay positive!!


Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry the ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her 'happy ever after' begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring but in the panic that followed, she has now lost her phone. As she paces shakily round the hotel foyer she spots an abandoned phone in a bin. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!  Well, perfect except the phone's owner, businessman Sam Roxton doesn't agree. He wants his phone back and doesn't appreciate Poppy reading all his messages and wading into his personal life.

What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other's lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents... she soon realises that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life

The Good Stuff
  • Poppy is adorable, loving, supportive and a hilarious flake -- I can totally relate to her
  • Laugh out loud funny on many occasions, yet sweet and heart breaking at times
  • Realistic character development for both Poppy and Magnus
  • Throughout the book I totally pictured Magnus to look and act like Colin Firth, couldn't help myself -- also really could translate to a movie
  • I actually couldn't put it down, which surprised me, I kept reading even-though I really should have been doing the laundry, dishes, reviews -- well you get the point
  • Will definitely be passing it around to many of my friends
  • Adored all the phone/text conversations between Poppy  -- and well everybody
  • Liked the development of Magnus' parents - despised them at first and ended up feeling compassion and love for them
  • Did I mention I kept laughing out loud while reading -- freaked the cat out
  • Hands down my favorite Kinsellla book
The Not So Good Stuff
  • Could have really benefited from a bit more editing to tighten up the story
  • Predictable (not really a bad thing, because predictable is not all that bad - more of an FYI)
  • Also less of the footnote idea -- once in a while was ok, but it really became a little irritating at the beginning
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"I've never had so much access to someone else's phone before. Not my friends'; note even Magnus's. There are some things you don't share. I mean Magnus has seen every inch of my body, including the dodgy bits, but I would never, ever let him near my phone."

"I've told her she just needs to exercise at home with her Dyna-Bands, but she insists she needs my help. I think she's become totally dependent on us - which might be good for the cash register but is not good for her."

"Of course he doesn't want to read it; he's trying to be nice. Which is sweet of him but makes me feel even more tragic, since I'm twenty-nice and he's seventeen."

Who Should/Shouldn't Read
  • Fans of Chick Lit, Romance and Contemporary will enjoy
  • Not for those who enjoy intense or non stop action
  • PERFECT beach read or if stuck at home with a sick child who sleeps most of the day 
  • Obviously fans of Kinsella's other books will love this
4 Dewey's

I received this from Random House in exchange for an honest review

4 comments:

  1. I agree on the foot notes as well. I read an Egalley of the book and I found it to be a bit annoying. I thought it was just like that for the egalley but happy to see it wasn't. Thanks for sharing your review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. See, and I LOVED the footnotes. I thought it brought a whole different level to Poppy!

    Stop by Turning the Pages and see what I thought of the book as well as an interview with Sophie Kinsella!!

    Happy Valentine's Day!

    Lindsay

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have been a big fan of her shopaholic series. Her other books were fun reads but I didn't feel connected to the characters. I was rooting for Sam and Poppy from the beginning and stayed up throughout the night (and partly throughout the morning) to finish this book! It is truly laugh out loud funny and I found myself sharing the same flutter of my heart every time Sam sent a text message. Great Book!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks guys for all the comments!

    ReplyDelete