Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Fever by Lauren DeStefano

Fever (Chemical Garden Trilogy #2)
by Lauren DeStefano
Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 978-1-4424-0907-1
Suggested Ages: 14+
Buy From Indigo
Release Date: February 21, 2012

Description: Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion, but danger is never far behind. Running away brings Rhine and Gabriel right into a trap, in the form of a twisted carnival whose ring-mistress keeps watch over a menagerie of girls. Just as Rhine uncovers what plans await her, her fortune turns again. With Gabriel at her side, Rhine travels through an environment as grim as the one she left a year ago - surroundings that mirror her own feelings of fear and hopelessness.

The two are determined to get to Manhattan, to relative safety with Rhine’s twin brother, Rowan. But the road there is long and perilous - and in a world where young women only live to age twenty and young men die at twenty-five, time is precious. Worse still, they can’t seem to elude Rhine’s father-in-law, Vaughn, who is determined to bring Rhine back to the mansion...by any means necessary.

In the sequel to Lauren DeStefano’s harrowing Wither, Rhine must decide if freedom is worth the price - now that she has more to lose than ever


The Good Stuff
  • Fabulous character development of Rhine, she has become a far more three dimensional character in this installment of the trilogy
  • DeStefano's writing is beautiful, one could actually say lyrical or poetic 
  • Very dark but truly compelling 
  • The mood and landscape of the story feel so real you feel like you are part of the story (hence the mention in the not so good stuff section)
  • New characters bring a lot to the story. Especially enjoyed and want more of Lilac, Silas, Maddie and Claire)
  • The story moves along at a good pace, keeps you interested throughout with lots of twist and turns
  • Was actually some humor which was unexpected due to storyline
  • Nice fleshed out background of Rhine's parents and what has happened to their world
  • Even-though this installment is quite dark, I didn't want to put the book down and the ending has me waiting very impatiently for the finale of the trilogy (don't even want to think how long I am going to have to wait)
  • reminiscent of Atwood's Handmaid's Tale - which is a compliment as I think it is a brilliant book 
  • Story starts with a bang too got me hooked right away
The Not So Good Stuff
  • Gabriel was very whiny and I was extremely irritated with him, without putting a spoiler in, it does makes sense in terms of the plot, but I still found him weak
  • It was very bleak and depressing and sort of put me in a down mood while reading (But as mentioned in the book sometimes things have to get worse to get better)
  • I think I am the only one, but I really didn't like the cover
Favorite Quotes/Passages


"I think of Deirdre's small, capable hands making it for me; they were etched with bright blue veins-her soft skin the only indication of her youth. Those hands could turn bathwater to magic, or thread diamonds into her knitting. Precision was in everything she created. I think of her wide hazel eyes, the soft melody of her voice. I think of how I will never see her again."


"My brother says the presidency is a useless tradition that might have once served a purpose but has become nothing but formality - something to give us hope that order will be restored one day."


"In my captivity the outside world became twice as bright in my memories, and wonderful, and so deliciously tempting that I wanted him to be a part of it.  I wanted him to know what life was beyond Vaughn's mansion. I was so swept up in these things that I forgot how cruel the world can be. How chaotic and dangerous."


Who Should/Shouldn't Read
  • If you enjoyed Wither you are going to enjoy Fever 
  • I recommend this for more mature YA readers (14+) due to subject matter
  • I think you must read Whither first as you would be quite lost if you started with this installment of the trilogy -- there is enough to be able to make sense of the storyline, but you would be missing so much, I think it would effect your enjoyment
  • Definitely for fans of Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic (Really someone has to explain to me what the difference is between the two terms) 

4.25 Dewey's


I received at the Ontario Blog Squad Tweet Up

No comments:

Post a Comment