Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Friday, February 17, 2012

Crossed by Ally Condie

Crossed (Matched #2)
Ally Condie
Penguin
ISBN: 978-0-525-42365-2
Suggested Ages:
Buy From Indigo

Description: In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky - taken by the Society to his certain death - only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.


Cassia's quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander - who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia's heart - change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever

The Good Stuff
  • Exceptionally good for a second novel in a trilogy
  • Plenty of action, once you start this one, you do not want to put it down
  • Less boy angst in this one, as an adult I really enjoyed this (target audience may be disappointed in this though)
  • Introduction of some new intriguing secondary characters (Indie, Vick and Eli)
  • Don't want to spoil anything, but one part broke my heart
  • Liked that it was narrated from both Ky and Cassia's point of view
  • Good character development for both Ky and Cassia
  • Found out so much more about how Society came to be and about what is going on in their world -- kept me wanting to find out more
  • Some good moral questions entwined within the story, would be great for discussion
The Not So Good Stuff
  • Barely any Xander, would have liked more of his story
  • The same for Cassia's family -- barely any mention of them - hoping the final book brings them back
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Xander is not usually a mystery to me. He's open, honest, a story I read again and again and love every time. But, in this moment, I can't tell what he thinks."

"And then they rewarded him?" I say, my breath ragged. "Did an airship come down and save him?"
"No," she says. "He delivered his message. Then he died."
"I start to laugh, which isn't good for saving breath, and Indie laughs, too. "I told you that you wouldn't want to hear it."

"My father wanted to be the person who changed everything and saved everyone. It was dangerous. But they all believed in him. The vilagers. My Mother. Me. Then I grew older and realized he could never win. I didn't die with him because I no longer went to any of the meetings. I stopped believing."

Who Should/Shouldn't Read
  • Obviously if you enjoyed the first book in the series, you will enjoy this one
  • I wouldn't recommend reading this if you haven't read the first book, you would be pretty lost, you could do it, but I don't recommend it
  • Fans of Dystopian and Post Apocolyptic fiction will enjoy
4.25 Dewey's

I borrowed this from Jenn

2 comments:

  1. YES I wanted more Xander! Crossed didn't hook me as much as I thought it would, but I'm still really excited for the final installment of the series.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have heard that from quite a few people too -- can't wait for the final installment - sometimes I get frustrated with these trilogies because have to wait so long between books and my memory ain't that good anymore LOL!

      Delete