Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts

Dark Inside 
by Jeyn Roberts
Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 978-1-4424-2351-0
Suggested Ages: 14+
Release Date: November 1, 2011
Buy From Indigo


Description: Since the beginning of mankind, civilizations have fallen: the Romans, the Greeks, the Aztecs…and now us. Huge earthquakes rock the world. Cities are destroyed. But something even more awful is happening: An ancient evil has been unleashed, and it's turning everyday people into hunters, killers, and crazies.

This is the world Mason, Aries, Clementine, and Michael are living in-or rather, trying to survive. Each is fleeing unspeakable horror, from murderous chaos to brutal natural disasters, and each is traveling the same road in a world gone mad. Amid the throes of the apocalypse and clinging to love and meaning wherever it can be found, these four teens are on a journey into the heart of darkness-and to find each other and a place of safety.

The Good Stuff
  • Loved it, could not put it down was even pissed at my Dr for being on time and making me have to put down the book
  • Not stop action with lots of twists and turns, keeps you guessing
  • Sort of reminds me of The Stand with teenagers - that's a good thing btw
  • Great characters who develop nicely and have you cheering for them 
  • Apocalyptic, Dystopian style plot - which you  may have guessed by now is a genre I very much reading about
  • Good moral questions thrown in which could lead to some great discussions
  • Some good humor thrown in to balance the darkness of the storyline
  • Mason sort of reminds me of Larry Underwood from the Stand
  • Canadian settings 
  • Enjoyed the scene with Twiggy - it was sorta darkly twisted, but kinda finny

The Not so Good Stuff
  • It just sort of ends - expected a better ending, but I understand there is going to be a sequel - if so than the end isn't that bad
  • A little too descriptive at times with the killing -- especially mentioning the killing of children -- I'm a Mom, that sort of thing is tough for me to have to read
  • I know its picky but many of the female characters act rather stereotypical at times with men having to save them  -- would have liked a little more kick assness (yes I know its not a word) from them

Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Warning signs left behind in the ruins of ancient civilization have been misinterpreted. The sins of mankind are always to blame. But who would have guessed it would be so gray? so empty?

"I specialized in downfall, the destruction of societies. As you can imagine, this whole event has caused quite a stir in my attention span.

"I guess I can't complain," she said. "I've been living off Oreos and Goldfish crackers since the whole thing started. I think I've drank enough Red Bull to last a lifetime. And I don't even like Red Bull. It tastes like cow pee."
Michael laughed. "You're a connoisseur of fine tastes. However will you survive this apocalypse?"

Who should/shouldn't read
  • Fans of Dystopian or Apocalyptic fiction will enjoy
  • not for the sensitive - there is a lot of violent acts and some written in great detail
4.25 Dewey's

I received this from Simon and Schuster in Exchange for an honest review

1 comment:

  1. This book was excellent. I enjoyed it so much that I could NOT put it down. I can't wait for the sequel!

    ReplyDelete