Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare: Mini Book Review

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1)
by Cassandra Clare
Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 978-1-4169-7586-1
Suggested Ages: 14+ (due to sexuality and violence - minor)
Buy From Indigo

DescriptionMagic is dangerous--but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London's Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What's more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa's power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by--and torn between--two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm's length...everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world...and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all


Mini Book Review: I now know what all the fuss is about this author,she is bloody fantastic.The women truly has a gift for telling a story. The world she has created feels so very vividly real and all of the characters are intriguing.  The story grabs your attention from the very first line and doesn't let go until the very last line -- and quite frankly that wasn't enough.  I started the next book in the series right away, even-though it was already midnight and I really should have gone straight to bed. The dialogue between the characters will often make you laugh your ass off, but within a few pages will also have you tearing up. Brilliant storytelling, unique plot and loveable believable characters  --  I very much look forward to reading everything else by this truly gifted storyteller. Fans of both Steampunk and Paranormal literature will enjoy.  Now just do yourself a favor, grab yourself a copy of the book, you will not be disappointed -- now ciao as I have to go finish the Clockwork Prince.

5 Dewey's

I borrowed this from Natasha & as soon as I finished it I picked up my ARC of  The Clockwork Prince, because I just couldn't get enough

2 comments:

  1. Wow! Your 5 star rating had me interested, but starting the second book right away, at midnight no less, is a real recommendation!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Worth it, the second was fabulous as well (Not AS good, but still fab) Highly recommend

    ReplyDelete