Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Thursday, September 15, 2011

The Scorch Trials by James Dasher: Book Review

The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2)
by James Dashner
Ember (Random House)
ISBN: 978-0-385-73876-7
Suggested Ages: 12+
Buy From Indigo

Description: Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. No more puzzles. No more variables. And no more running. Thomas was sure that escape meant he and the Gladers would get their lives back. But no one really knew what sort of life they were going back to.

In the Maze, life was easy. They had food, and shelter, and safety . . . until Teresa triggered the end. In the world outside the Maze, however, the end was triggered long ago.

Burned by sun flares and baked by a new, brutal climate, the earth is a wasteland. Government has disintegrated—and with it, order—and now Cranks, people covered in festering wounds and driven to murderous insanity by the infectious disease known as the Flare, roam the crumbling cities hunting for their next victim . . . and meal.

The Gladers are far from finished with running. Instead of freedom, they find themselves faced with another trial. They must cross the Scorch, the most burned-out section of the world, and arrive at a safe haven in two weeks. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Thomas can only wonder—does he hold the secret of freedom somewhere in his mind? Or will he forever be at the mercy of WICKED?

The Good Stuff
  • Spectacular second book in a trilogy -- we all know that is a rarity - honestly I think it was better than the The Maze Runner
  • Non stop action with plenty of twists and turns
  • Will appeal to both male and female readers
  • Dystopian novel with hints of the Outsiders, The Running Man, Death Race and even a bit of Lost, Serenity (you will think of the Reavers trust me) and The Stand
  • Could not put it down, I actually counted down till nap time today so I could put my toddler to bed and read the last 80 pages. Stayed up last night to midnight to read, my eyes were drooping but I still wanted to read more
  • Realistic characters who develop nicely
  • Nice moral questions put in, would be great for a High School literature course & far less dull than  The Lord of the Flies
  • The writing is so vivid and spectacular you feel like you are one of the characters
  • Just go buy The Maze Runner and the Scorch Trials if you wanted to become immersed in a fantastic tale that you just can't stop yourself from reading
  • Now off to hunt someone down who has a copy of The Death Cure -- I'm still totally buying my own copy for my bookshelf (its shelf worthy - hey I got limited space I gotta be selective) but I NEED to read it now 
  • Some nice humour in this one, which was a little lacking in The Maze Runner
The Not so Good Stuff
  • Damn wish I had got an arc of The Death Cure so I could find out what happens. Ah well I guess I can practice patience and wait till Oct 11th when it comes out
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Yeah , right," Minho said. "And Frypan's gonna start having little babies, Winston'll get rid of his monster acne, and Thomas here'll actually smile for once."
Thomas turned to Minho and exaggerated a fake smile. "Ther, you happy?"
"Dude," he responded. "You are one ugly shank."



 "With thoughts of revenge actually comforting him in a sick and twisted way, he finally fell asleep."

"Sometimes I wonder." Thomas murmured.
"Wonder what?"
"If being alive matters. If being dead might be a lot easier."
"Please. I don't believe for one second you really think that."
Thomas's gaze had lowered while he'd delivered the depressing sentiment and he looked up sharply at Newt's retort. The he smiled, and it felt good. "You're right. Just trying to sound as miserable as you."


Who should/shouldn't read
  • Fans of dystopian literature will be hooked
  • Would recommend reading The Maze Runner before you read this, otherwise you might be totally lost
  • Fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and Stephen King's The Running Man will enjoy
  • Not for the squeamish or sensitive - it be intense
4.75 Dewey's

I received this from Random House in exchange for an honest review - damn you couldn't you have sent me the next book too -- ah wait a second, I get it -- this intrigues me enough for me to go BUY my own copy -- good one LOL!

1 comment:

  1. Ha! It comes out on my birthday. Feel free to buy me a gift ;)

    ReplyDelete