Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Saturday, June 4, 2011

Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't have) by Sarah Mlynowski

Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't have) 
by Sarah Mlynowski
HarperTeen (Harper Collins)
ISBN: 978-0-06-170124-5
Suggested Age: 14+ (due to sexuality)
Buy from Indigo

Description: 2 girls + 3 guys + 1 house – parents = 10 things April and her friends did that they (definitely, maybe, probably) shouldn't have.

If given the opportunity, what sixteen-year-old wouldn't jump at the chance to move in with a friend and live parent-free? Although maybe "opportunity" isn't the right word, since April had to tell her dad a tiny little untruth to make it happen (see #1: "Lied to Our Parents"). But she and her housemate Vi are totally responsible and able to take care of themselves. How they ended up "Skipping School" (#3), "Throwing a Crazy Party" (#8), "Buying a Hot Tub" (#4), and, um, "Harboring a Fugitive" (#7) at all is kind of a mystery to them.

In this hilarious and bittersweet tale, Sarah Mlynowski mines the heart and mind of a girl on her own for the first time. To get through the year, April will have to juggle a love triangle, learn to do her own laundry, and accept that her carefully constructed world just might be falling apart . . . one thing-she-shouldn't-have-done at a time.

The Good Stuff
  • Sweet and funny and just very, very realistic
  • Teens will love it, very teenage ansty stuff that they will be able to relate to
  • The language and actions of the characters really ring true and honest
  • Made me smile thinking about the same emotions I went through when I was deciding whether to have sex with my boyfriend for the 1st time (really should have waited, quite the disappointment)
  • Storyline moves along very smoothly and even-though there isn't anything really thrilling or exciting, you find yourself engrossed in the story and cheerinfor April
  • Great opening chapter really gets your attention 
  • Love the background characters
  • Love the friendship between the girls
The Not so Good Stuff
  • OMG, my kids are going to do this shit, aren't they -- sorta made me think too much -- ok not really a not so good stuff, but kept thinking this while reading (Obviously if you are a teen, this won't affect you , so for you it would be 5 Dewey's)
  • A lot of sex and alcohol and not any real consequences for the bad choices they made (Dude I'm a mom, what do you expect)
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"We're Jewish, so to me it was the Day Dad Told Me He Was Moving, but to the majority of the world it was Christmas."


"You know," Vi commented, "I've never been blackmailed before."
"Me neither," I said
"I always thought that it would happen eventually." VI said, "But I assumed it would be for having an illicit affair."

"You can't live with a friend." Penny said, emphasizing the word friend like I had said "Family of anacondas."

 
What I Learned
  • Teens have sex and drink -- never mind already knew that -- I am so screwed in a couple of years -- I know what I did as a teen, and now my kids are going to do the same.
Who should/shouldn't read
  • Teens real really enjoy and relate
  • Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot will enjoy
  • Not for the more sophisticated teen as it is quite fluffy
4 Dewey's



I received this from HarperCollins in exchange for an  honest review

2 comments:

  1. I've long loved this author but haven't kept up with her career...glad to see this book, and that it looks so good! Thanks for this review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks Constance I will have to look out for some of her other stuff

    ReplyDelete