Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Drinking Closer to Home by Jessica Anya Blau: Book Review

Drinking Closer to Home
by Jessica Anya Blau
HarperPerennial
ISBN: 978-0-06-198402-0
Buy from Indigo 

Description: They say you can never really go home again. Adult siblings Anna, Portia, and Emery are about to discover just how true that is.

From Jessica Anya Blau, critically-acclaimed author of The Summer of Naked Swim Parties, comes a new novel of California, growing up, and learning to love your insane family. Perfect for fans of Jess Walter, Kevin Wilson, and Michael Chabon, Drinking Closer to Home is a poignant and funny exploration of one family's over-the-top eccentricities—a book Ron Tanner calls "heartfelt and hilarious."


The Good Stuff
  • This wasn't my cup of tea guys, but don't let my review affect you too much as she is a fantastic writer, and I have read many fantastic reviews of the book, but I just couldn't get into it
  • Bitingly funny at times
  •  Well written and the story flows nicely told between modern day and flash backs
  • Author is outstanding at making you see the character she is describing, I felt like I really knew the characters even if I didn't like them
  • A extremely realistic portrayal of many families during the 70's
  • Emery is an interesting character and I really felt for him
The Not so Good Stuff
  • The parents are so narcissistic and just bloody awful parents, that they really turned me off from getting into the story.  In fact most of the characters were just genuinely unlikeable, which makes is hard for me personally get into a novel
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Portia begins speaking for the cat, saying what she believes Maggie Bucks is thinking. Emery, who is sitting at the kitchen table reading the paper, assumes that Portia is giving her a cartoon-like Asian accent because the cast is Siamese."  "What you do here, Connecticut Girl? Smoker Lady no here! Smoker Lady in hospital! You go home now! You go back to Greenwich! I no want you here, Connecticut Girl!"


"The idea that her mother wouldn't have the same occupation as her friends' mothers enraged Anna. Who would have the nerve to give birth to children, move them into a  house and declare that she wasn't going to take care of them? A drug-addicted hippie, Anna decided, that's who."


What I Learned
  • That I was a kid during the 70's and I am so lucky that my parents didn't do any of the shit that these kids useless parents did
Who should/shouldn't read
  •  Not for me or for those with similar reading likes & dislikes
  • Better for a more educated reader who likes something a little more thought provoking
  • Bet ya my sister in law will love it -- we always have opposite reading tastes -- totally love her though!!
  • Please if you think this is something you might like, go for it, the writing is brilliant -- I'm just a simple girl who needs to find someone to really like and cheer for, for me to love
2.75 Dewey's (This is based on my personal experience with the book, not on the quality of the writing, which is exceptional) 

I received this book from HarperPerennial in Exchange for an honest review 

No comments:

Post a Comment