Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Salting Roses by Lorelle Marinello: Book Review

Salting Roses
by Lorelle Marinello
Avon (HarperCollins)
ISBN: 978-0-06-144374-9
December 1, 2010

Description: Gracie Lynne Calloway-once left on a coal bucket on a front porch in a small Southern Alabama town-discovers on her 25th birthday that she is the kidnapped daughter of a late New England financier and   Heiress to a fortune.

When the tabloid press and her unwanted greedy relatives descend on her, she has to admit the quiet secure life she's known and loved is gone for good. As Gracie struggles to stabilize her world and come to terms with her new identity, she learns that belonging is not about where you came from but who you are.

The Good Stuff

  • A sweet charming, beautiful and wise book
  • Don't let the slowness of it make you put the book down, the characters slowly grow on you and you realize how much you have grown to care about them
  • Bloody brilliant and realistic character development
  • It's the perfect book for a cold winter's night. You want to curl up, grab a tea (or a nice Australian red wine) and lose yourself in a delightful small town full of quirky and all too real characters
  • Some nice humour and fun dialogue
  • Great starting chapter - but I warn you it slows down a little after that, but please don't give up
  • Lovely messages about truth, money, forgiveness,family, love and being human
The Not so Good Stuff

  • It was very slow at times and I had a hard time getting into it, but it really grew on me so don't let the slowness get to you
  • Gracie irritated me at times because she was so stubborn and I didn't always understand her choices
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Gracie was convinced God had invented Jeans to make up for his mistake of letting Eve into the Garden of Eden naked as a jaybird."

"She had to be all of one hundred and ten pounds - what Alice's Hollywood magazines called fashionably thin, a polite word for anorexic."

"Happiness was something that came from having the freedom to be who you really were - not someone else's version of your ideal self, but the deep down you, with all the good and bad mixed up thick."

What I Learned

  • That I secretly hope that I am some kidnapped heiress and one day someone will come along with 6 million dollars for me to do with as I please. 
  • Books like this make me glad that I decided to become a book reviewer and jump out of my reading comfort zone
Who should/shouldn't read
  • Fans of Fannie Flagg and Debbie Macomber will probably enjoy
  • Those who enjoy Southern fiction
  • Not for those who like tons of action and/or hot steamy sex
4 Dewey's

I received this from HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review -- thank you once again HarperCollins for sending me a book that I probably never would have picked out, but am glad I read

No comments:

Post a Comment