Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Thursday, June 24, 2010

The Master and the Muses by Amanda McIntyre: Book Review

The Master and the Muses
by Amanda McIntyre
Harlequin-Spice Books
ISBN: 9780373605446





Description: They are his inspiration. He is their obsession.  Icon, rebel, unabashed romantic… with a single look painter Thomas Rodin conveys the ecstasy of creativity—the pleasures awaiting the woman who can fuel his artistry. the Innocent: What did this master artist see in me? Genius abided in his soul, rapture in his flesh—I doubted not. To refuse him…my folly. To surrender…my sensual salvation. the Upstart: I chafed at the bonds of servitude until he set me free. I turned my back on all that I knew to follow him and found myself between two men—master and student—one whom I loved with my heart...the other with my body.
the Courtesan: I understood, perhaps better than any, his needs. I stoked the fires of his soul, the spark of his creativity— he made me a legend. But never could I forget his searing touch.…
Three transcendent tales of women bewitched by a master of seduction— a slave as much to his art as to his boundless passion.

The Good Stuff

  • Very sensual
  • Beautifully written
  • Heartbreakingly sad at times
  • writer has a gift for writing very sensual and seductive sex scenes -- and steamy
  • Thomas is a delightful cad at time, mad artist at others and just a truly fascinating character
  • The opening chapter is wonderful and gets you hooked right away
  • Loved the spunk of the muse Sarah. She is very much like Thomas self involved but not evil or unkind
  • Did I mention that there were some seriously steamy scenes, thinking hubby might just get lucky later
  • It's historical and we know I love that in my romances
  • The guy on the cover is yummy
The Not so Good Stuff
  • The story on the 2nd muse is a little weak story-wise, which is a shame as she is a fascinating character
  • Liked the character of  William and would have liked more on him, but that would have made the book way too long
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"I consider myself a spiritualist, a believer in karma more so than doctrine. My passion lies in the tip of my brush, but my inspiration is women. They are my muses. I ask you, what creature in all the earth epitomizes such beauty and grace?"

"Thomas regards women with the same awe that other men reserve for the stars, or a sunrise.”

"Your hair is glorious. That deep russet—those mahogany undertones are positively scandalous!"

"I'd seen the face of a dear friend murdered by God knows who and God knows why, because she’d had no choice but to do what she did to survive. "


What I Learned
  • a new term for prostitute - Ladybird
  • Having a sensual affair with an artist sounds extremely decadent
  • Artist's make very poor husbands
  • Never judge someone by their profession (oldest)
Who should/shouldn't read
  • Sooooo not for the prudish
  • Fantastic book for a cold winter's night or with a glass of wine in the hot tub (but I advise getting the book and not reading an e-copy in the water -- that could go bad)
  • Fans of Bertrice Small, Jo Beverly, Mary Jo Putney will enjoy
4 Dewey's - Definitely worth price of cover


I received a temporary e-copy of the book for an honest review from NetGalley

2 comments:

  1. This looks fun. I'd never heard of the Ladybird term before. I really like way you do these reviews :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks Stacy!! NetGalley is great since I get to read all these interesting books and I don't have to worry about hubby freaking out about the amount of books I own.

    ReplyDelete