Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Gentlemen Prefer Succubi and Succubi Like It Hot by Jill Myles: Review

As I was about to post my review for Succubi Like It Hot, I realized that I had never put a review up for Gentlemen Prefer Succubi - so now going to do them together

Gentlemen Prefer Succubi (Succubus Diaries, #1)
by Jill Myles
Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781416572824


Description: Jackie Brighton woke up in a dumpster this morning, and her day has only gotten weirder. Her breasts grew overnight, her sex drive is insatiable, and apparently she had her first one-night stand ever . . . with a fallen angel. Of course, she only remembers gorgeous Noah’s enormous, er, package. And their steamy shower sex. Hmm . . . and the dark stranger whose bite transformed her into an immortal siren with a seductive Itch. With help from Noah and fellow succubus Remy Summore, Jackie adapts to her new lifestyle—until she accidentally strikes a deal that sends her lover into the deadly clutches of the vampire queen and lands Jackie, Remy, and the queen’s wickedly hot right-hand man into the middle of a fierce battle for an ancient halo. But how’s a girl supposed to save the world when the enemy’s so hard to resist

The Good Stuff
  • Any book that start off with "It had obviously been one hell of a night if I couldn't recall why I was waking up in a dumpster" has to be a book I will enjoy
  • Zane and Remy. The two of them get the best dialogue and some of the stuff they say will make you laugh your a** off
  • Fascinating and creative tale of the history of fallen angels and vampires
  • Very naughty and steamy "interludes"
  • As I mentioned before the dialogue is hilarious!!
  • The book cover is -- yummy!
  • Interesting plot, fast paced and entertaining
  • Any scene with Remy and Jackie

The Not so Good Stuff
  • Jackie can be irritating at times and you want to smack her across the head for being so stupid (than again I feel that way about family and friends at times, so its not that big of a deal) She is also whiny and a little selfish
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"It had obviously been one hell of a night if I couldn't recall why I was waking up in a dumpster"

"So in other worlds, I'm now catnip to the scum of the world"

You're kidding me, I gaped at her. I'm going to turn into a raving nymphomaniac because of Angels and Vampires?"


What I Learned
  • Um -- some x-rated stuff 
  • Angels, not always the nicest people

Who should/shouldn't read
  • Definitely not for the prudish
  • Those that hate books with irritating characters (no names mentioned - cough cough - Natasha)
  • Those who enjoy a good laugh will love this
  • Fans of Julie Kenner, Jennifer Estep, Illona Andrews should enjoy
 4 Deweys (Definite worth price of cover)


Succubi Like It Hot (Succubus Diaries, #2)
by Jill Myles
Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781416572831

Description:  NOBODY SAID SUCKING WAS EASY.
With a hot new figure, her dream job as an archaeologist, and two gorgeous boyfriends to scratch her seductive Itch -- an angel and a vampire -- Jackie Brighton is totally getting the hang of life as a succubus. Then she accidentally knocks the pizza guy unconscious with her touch. Great -- she's cursed. After striking a deal to get the curse lifted by a crafty demon, Jackie and her best friend Remy take a road trip to deliver a cryptic message to the nation's oldest succubus. Unfortunately, neither of her jealous lovers is talking to Jackie right now, and due to the curse, she's desperate to get her Itch scratched very soon. Their journey gets weirder with every mile -- demonic possession, a charming stalker, a cryptic warning -- and when they get to New Orleans, Jackie discovers a dangerous catch to her supernatural bargain. Someone wants her dead -- again. Can a brainy vixen in a miniskirt outsmart the forces of evil?


The Good Stuff
  • Even naughtier than the last one
  • Another yummy cover
  • Once again hilarious dialogue
  • Loving Remy even more
  • Zane, Delilah and Mae
  • Fun and fast paced plot
  • The scene between Mae and Jackie near the end
  • Any scene with Delilah in it - love her character
  • Some really nice sweet and touching moments between Jackie and Remy and Jackie and Zane
  • Jackie less whiny in this one and actually takes charge of things
  • The scenes with the priest, Jackie and Bingo -- trust me its good stuff

The Not so Good Stuff
  • Jackie is still quite whiny and irritating at times

Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Any command one of them issued, I had to obey them like some  oversexed I dream of Jeannie"

"Do we have to do a Porn tour?"
It'll be fun.
Yeah, as fun as a pap smear, and involving more vagina's"

"Two porn stars , a sulking vampire, and me crammed in a Hummer for the next week. Fun"


What I Learned
  • Being a Succubus isn't as fun as it sounds
  • Lots of more x-rated things 'blush

Who should/shouldn't read
  • Once again NOT FOR THE PRUDISH
  • Jackie is less irritating in this one, so a certain someone might enjoy it more

4 Deweys (Definite worth price of cover)



Both books were bought from KOBO for my Kobo ereader so I got crap for this review : )

No comments:

Post a Comment