Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Friday, April 16, 2010

Spider's Bite by Jennifer Estep: Review

Spider's Bite
by Jennifer Estep
Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 978-1-4391-4797-9
Author's Website

Good Stuff
  • Witty Dialogue - We know how important that is to me
  • Fresh and interesting storyline
  • Loved the idea of Elementals
  • Heroine is awesome. Strong, Compassionate, and well just plain Kick Ass!
  • Loved the relationship between Gin, Fletcher and Finn
  • Hot steamy sex scene
  • Great introduction really gets you into the story right away
  • Fantastic story, looking forward to reading the rest of the series - when it comes out that is

Not So Good Stuff
  • Mentioned the past about her sisters so many times I really wasn't surprised by the revelation at the end
  • Her descriptions of food made me extremely hungry and I think I gained 10 pounds just by reading
What I learned
  • The author must love to cook!
  • That a Peanut Butter, Pumpkin puree and banana sandwich sounds really yummy and I am soooo going to try and make it
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"My name is Gin, and I kill people" - Come on how can you not like a book that starts that way!

"Normally, I wouldn't have bothered with the whole assassin's exposition. Such a cliche"

"You should have just shot me. Not talked yourself to death"

"It's the principle of the thing, you don't puke on a Mercedes."


Who Should Read
  • Fans of Julie Kenner, Marta Acosta, Laurell K Hamilton, Jeaniene Frost
  • Lovers of paranormal fiction 
  • Those who enjoy snappy dialogue
  • Not for the squeamish or prudish

5 Dewey's (Go now & buy book -- trust me I'm a Librarian)


Won this book from Vampire Wire and Reviewed it, just cause I wanted to tell you all how frickin fantastic it is!

7 comments:

  1. I'm going to have to try an read this one again. I have a series I am going to recommend to you. I reviewed the first one yesterday and I am doing the 2nd one today - I'm throwing in some quotes that made me rofl out loud and I read them to R and he laughed.

    ReplyDelete
  2. awesome, you know I love humour!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am totally with you on this one and I am LOVING your reviewing style!

    My review for Spider's Bite is here...

    Have a great weekend - Miranda

    ReplyDelete
  4. I remember that sandwich. It sounded delicious, didn't it?

    ReplyDelete
  5. I agree Carol, I so want that sandwich too

    ReplyDelete
  6. So I found Jennifer Estep through Karma Girl, which was awesome... but sadly, I still haven't picked up Spider Bite. Based on your review, though, I'm going to have to bump it up a little higher on my list. : )

    I do love the format of your reviews. Good points, bad points (including the one about food that made me smile because that so happens to me), a quote or two... the reviews are very fun to read! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this book.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have been reading more urban fantasy lately and really enjoying it. This sounds good. So does the sandwich - I'll have to ask DH to try it!

    ReplyDelete